Welcome to Canada!

Good day to everyone and greetings from Canada! I arrived in Toronto on Wednesday night, and I’ll be staying here till Canada Day. Then my next stop is New York.

First, I needed to motivate myself to pack for an 18-day trip.

A pot of mint tea to help me relax.
Thankfully I had someone cute to help me pack… or atleast keep me company.
Whilst I had a super skin-tightening clay mask that always makes my eyes bulge out.
Progress!
Packed a bagel for the trip.
Sprouted Wheat Onion Poppyseed Bagels with cream cheese, marinated portobello mushrooms, avocado, and some cucumber slices.

Alvarado Street Bakery makes great bread along with other things like bagels, rolls, and pizza bread! My old roommate would always get these bagels and they smelled so awesome when she’d toast them.

Fig Almond cake for snacking–check.

When we got to the airport there was a flight delay. It worked in our favor since we weren’t sure if we’d make it in time for check-in since it was an international flight, plus we had Matilda.

Oh, and that bagel sandwich? It was so good!

 We finally made it, and the cutest Canadian ever granted us permission to enter the country. My mom and I should’ve taken him up on his offer as tour-guide… even if he was just kidding!

Checking out her new surroundings.
First morning I decided to go downstairs with my mom to have breakfast.

They get their scrumptious bread from a local bakery, and the fried potatoes reminded me of Bratkartofeln. Alongside with a bowl of cottage cheese topped with fruits, muesli, and nuts.

My mom looked lovely before she headed into work.
Around lunchtime my mom and a few of her co-workers swooped me off to a Vietnamese restaurant.

I ordered the stir-fried vegetables with tofu. It was a simple meal, but I’m not sure what was in the sauce… or what it was but my stomach was swimming for the rest of the day.

Also tried a funky looking lychee drink.
Later on we went on a real food adventure–a Canadian grocery store!

My goodness! The produce section was HUGE! Foods from all over the world. Lots from Asia and South America. My mom even found granadia, also known as passion fruit. I also found a ton of kabochas, but there’s no way of preparing them here… unless the hotel lets me use their kitchen.

I was amazed by all of the cheeses and breads that were at the store–these are some Canadian specialties.

They had a shelf just of German breads, and different kinds of pretzels to choose from. There was also a freezer-full of gluten-free options as well!

And lookie here what I was reunited with!

They stopped carrying these in America because people may choke on the small toys inside -cough-stupid lawsuits-cough-.

Milk chocolate goodness!!!
Beware you could choke on these, bahaha!
I was curious about these… they reminded me of a less saltier version of Bugles–tasty.
Got some of the best hummus ever (you can smell the caramelized onions!), and I wish the US had lentil salads like this on the regular.

I would gladly buy pre-packaged food like this!

Enjoyed over a bed of lettuce and various sprouts.
We also got a loaf of Swiss fruit and muesli bread.
Ze cheeeese
Cheese monster
Such a creamy and oily texture under the rind.
Pantry full–check.
Fridge full–check.
My mom spotted fresh gooseberries at the store as well.
We also got this interesting tea to try–this is what it looks like when a tea bag is holding on for dear life.
I also found some chamomile flowers when I was on a walk with Matilda.

This is just the beginning of my trip so there will be many more recaps! So far I really think it’s neat that everything here is in French and English. I’ve been reading everything in French with my best accent, and just having fun with it. I wanted to go on a run and explore some more. Alas it started raining heavily so that will have to wait.

In other news, Meg has started a new tradition on her blog called “Feature Friday”, and she asked me to be on her blog! Meg is one of those girls that has a good (and incredibly beautiful) head on her shoulders. She’s got a great outlook and such an awesome sense of humor. So check out her blog if you don’t know her already, and you can also check out my post right over here!

I hope you all have a great weekend ahead of you.

How do you guys like to get to know the places you visit?

Anyone have any recommendations for while I’m here?

23 thoughts on “Welcome to Canada!

  1. What do fresh gooseberries taste like? I’ve seen them before, but I’ve only tried them dried. Dried gooseberries have such a tart, pungent flavor. Are they milder when they’re fresh?

    By the way, you and your mom definitely know how to stock a hotel room! I want to go on a trip with the two of you! We would eat a lot of cheese and drink a lot of tea, of course. 🙂

    • They definitely have a mild tartness, and it comes in a burst of flavor.. imagine how a cherry tomato bursts in your mouth 🙂

      YES!!!

  2. You’re in Canada, Yay! Haha, I’m not a native here, but I am simply delighted to see that you’re enjoying your trip here in Canada.

    Canadian stores definitely have lots of Asian goods – especially in Vancouver and Toronto. I heard that if you go to supermarkets like T&T, you can find items that you’ve never seen anywhere else before!

    Since you’re in Canada, I highly recommend Liberte products. They make some awesome yogurts and Cream Cheese!!!

    Have a safe trip!

  3. ahhh so much to comment on.

    first off, canada! that’s awesome, i have family in vancouver and i really love it there. you are lucky that you get to travel.

    secondly, you and your mom both are so beautiful! i see that the loveliness runs in the family =)

    fig almond cake! i love that stuff. its actually really good as a sandwich filler if you slice it up, put it between two slices of toast along with some goat cheese. the sweet nuttiness compliments the sharpness of goat cheese so well!!

    and kinder eggs! oh man that brings back memories. the first time i had one i was in ecuador and i loved eating the chocolate (the unbeatable hazelnutty taste) and the toys! i remember being in this small little village in ecuador and all the barefooted kids would buy them and eat them. i can picture it in my head right now!

    in terms of getting to know a new place/city, i like just getting lost and wandering. i also like asking around for recommendations from locals!

    • Oh myyy! I wonder if you went to Lula’s 😉 AHH!! I love that you posted about this because I have actually planned on going there on my visit. I’ve heard so many great things about it. Thanks for the tip.

      XO!! Would’ve been great to see you in New York ❤

  4. I love Kinder Surprise Eggs!!!! My dad used to bring them home from Germany for my sister and I (he travels there a lot for work)… I really wish they still had them in the states – potential lawsuits kill all the fun.

  5. Welcome to Canada! Some things to check out in Toronto, hmm…. the AGO if you’re wanting to visit an art gallery, Queen St. West if you want unique shopping, the Distillery District for somewhere with beautiful scenery and unique little galleries! There are also lots of great restaurants… I love Fresh (any of the locations) and Urban Herbivore. Enjoy!!!

    • There’s a restaurant on Queen St. West called Fressen that I want to check out, and a friend was telling me that Queen St. is a great place to go 🙂 Thank you so much for the heads up! I think I’m going to head downtown with my little dog and take her around as well.

  6. Looks like your gonna have a fab trip! 🙂 I normally get to know places just by walking around. My feet are still recovering from my last trip to NYC! Holy miles! It’s the best way though… enjoy! 🙂

  7. Welcome to Canada c: I always love the Canadian Border Patrol–they’re always so nice when we cross back over the border after vacations to the US haha.

    I definitely recommend that you try popping into a Loblaws/Real Canadian Superstore. Their in-house brand, President’s Choice, has some really great things that I think would be right up your alley! Also, they usually carry Taste of Nature bars http://www.tasteofnature.ca/?setlang=en which are absolutely delicious. And I second the above recommendation to try out Liberte products. Their Mediterranee yogurts are the ultimate in indulgent yogurts–and they have so many flavours! And their organic yogurts taste amazing.

    Hope you enjoy your time in Toronto! It’s such a fun city, I love it c: I can picture you in Kensington Market, verrry easily.

    • Oh, and one final recommendation: Nuts to You brand’s Almond hazelnut butter. You can find it in most Real Canadian Superstores/Loblaws. It is amaaaazing.

    • Thank you so much!

      I got some President’s Choice things today, and Liberte yogurt! I plan on exploring Toronto some more, and Kensington Market is on my radar 😉 Thank you so much for the recommendations.

  8. I have to ask – which grocery store is that, and where is it located??! I’m a Toronto native, and it seems like I’ve never been to that one…

    • It was Highland Farms 🙂 You should check it out! They have the biggest array of produce. I went to Florintino’s today and they also have a great selection of foods as well.

  9. I’m glad that you’re enjoying your trip to Toronto so far, Katharina. I’ve never tried the Caramelized Onion hummus, but I have tried the Greek Olive, Roast Pine Nuts and Chipotle versions by the same company. Sooo good! Maybe I’ll have to try the Caramelized Onion one next.

    Since I know that you’re interested in food and various grocery store experiences, I would recommend that you check out The Big Carrot while you’re in Toronto. It’s on Danforth Avenue, but if you’re taking the subway, it’s closest to Chester Station.

    Enjoy your trip!

  10. Hahahaha those Kinder toys inside are the best! I love that you were able to relive some old memories of them 🙂
    Btw there are many many many cute Canadian boys that will hit on you like crazy, and your mom as well- fair warning 😉

    xoxo

  11. Yayy Toronto is my hometown! Looks like you’ve already done some good explorin’. I would highly recommend a trip to the Toronto Islands (particularly Ward’s Island), High Park, Ashbridge’s Bay (nice beach), Queen West & Trinity Bellwoods Park and of course Kensington Market (my favourite little vegetarian cafe there is called Hibiscus…they have awesome rice + tofu + veggie bowls that I bet you would enjoy)!

  12. Glad you enjoyed the food in Toronto! What a great place to enjoy food with all the different cultures! It’s certainly something we as Canadians pride ourselves on!

Leave a comment