A Birthday Fest

Thank you all for the birthday wishes! These past couple of weeks have felt like a non-stop celebration. It’s strange to me, but I’m definitely enjoying it while it lasts. Or maybe it will just last forever? That’s how my mother lives life, and it’s contagious when you’re around her.

For my birthday my friend treated me to lunch… to any place I’d like “the sky’s the limit.”

Hmm… there were so many options, but I decided on Millie’s Diner. This place is one of those restaurants around Richmond that you HAVE to try. It’s got a stellar reputation, and I’ve always wanted to go. After a grueling and sweaty bike ride we finally made it to our destination.

The menu was written on a chalkboard hanging right above our heads, so we literally looked up to it which was an interesting experience in itself.

I got the Spicy Black Bean Burrito with Cheddar Cheese.

It also came with fresh salsa and sour cream, and every plate comes with their home fries.

My friend ordered the Grilled Portobello Mushroom Burger on a Kaiser Bun and Red Onion Marmalade.

They sure do like their sriracha.

Love pat before you take a big bite.
We split our entrees.

Everything was so tasty. Basic recipes but done right!

Birthday cake time for the birthday girl–this year I got a candle!
I got the Apple Spice Walnut Cake.

This tastes as good as it looks… dare I say it was better?

My friend ordered the Chocolate Pudding Peanut Butter dessert.
The delicious and incredibly rich abyss.

After my belly was satisfied I knew why Millie’s is so famous!

Later on I met up with some of friends at one of my favorite hangout spots.

There was a cool band playing while they had 1970’s Italian flicks projected over them.

I was treated with freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and tasty drinks.

It was funny because when I arrived at the place I was the first one to get there. I decided to sit outside and enjoy the weather, and then I overheard someone saying happy birthday to someone else. I asked if it was their birthday, and I told them it was mine too. Then she asked me what I was doing out there, and I told her I was waiting. Next thing you know she invited me to sit with her friends at the biggest table. They looked like they were definitely having a lot of fun. Her slice of birthday cake came out and we sang happy birthday to each other, and she got me a glass of the wine she was having. A toast to Geminis and their lively ways!

This drink was called Light Kisses–and it was as lovely as it sounds.
The bunch!
Getting down to some funky music.
Good morning!

Then Saturday rolled around it was time to get to work for my Birthday/Going Away party. I woke up, had breakfast, and made some pizza dough.

My first pizza made completely out of scratch–I crossed my fingers and into the oven it went!

The pizza had basil pesto, tomato sauce, yellow squash, mushrooms sautéed with balsamic vinegar and thyme, mozzarella, and goat cheese.

This may look like a quiche, but it was actually a vegan baked spinach artichoke dip.
Orange and Almond Florentines
So delicate–held together by egg whites.
Also baked soft ginger cookies.
Oddly-shaped pizzas may now be my forte.
I had a feeling that my friends would love this!
Also made bruschetta.
This is the ultimate party snack for those hot weather days.
My friend graciously offered his place for my party–it was like an old world museum.
The spread on an old table saw–classic.

I also made a cannellini dip, and served Trader Joe’s Everything crackers (if you haven’t tried them you must) to go with the dips. Here’s a list of the recipe links, except for the pizza and the cannellini dip since I made those up.

Bruschetta

Orange and Almond Florentines

Soft Ginger Cookies

Vegan Baked Spinach Artichoke Dip

Pizza Dough

My friend also made a salad using things from his garden–a mulberry salad.

Fresh mulberries are awesome, and I kept munching on them throughout the night. The house itself was hot, but it’s especially hot when you’re dancing up a storm.

He also made fresh spring rolls filled with his garden's bounty.

Let the birthday fun begin!
Our “serious” family portrait.
Think fast!

Wow! I really can’t imagine that there are people who don’t like to celebrate their birthdays. All I can say is that I was really happy, and I felt so special… I just wanted everyone else to be just as happy as I was.

What’s one of your favorite birthday memories?

20 thoughts on “A Birthday Fest

  1. Millie’s sounds wonderful! That apple walnut dessert looks amaaazing… I bet I would have ordered the same thing! And that is hilarious you became friends with the other birthday people. I love it. Glad you are fully enjoying and celebrating your birthday!! 🙂

  2. AWWWW so glad you had a such a great bday my love!!!!! your bday dinner sounds AMAZING too!!!! love you- i know Gods going to bless your next year so much more!

  3. i love the pink party hat =) seems like your birthday was a success!!! all the meal outings seem so fun and perfect!

    as always, i am inspired by your cooking!

  4. Your mouth lives in a constant state of food heaven. Please make ME an oddly shaped pizza! I’m actually one of those people who don’t like to celebrate their birthday…but if you wanted to cook for me all day long…I don’t think I would argue! 🙂

  5. Happy birthday to you! Glad you had such a great day. Birthdays to remember… well, it’s hard to think past my UPCOMING birthday which I’m really looking forward to in July – I’m going to Berlin to meet up with friends I dearly miss from back home. I have a feeling it will be hard to top that!

  6. Happy belated! This looks like such a fun celebration with friends, and your homemade pizza looks a-mazing… I need to give that a shot sometime 🙂

  7. What a fun and DELICIOUS looking bunch of birthday celebrations. I’m glad you had such a wonderful one. Happy Belated!

    I’ll admit, I’ve never been a big fan of celebrating my own (I’m not a big fan of attention or something I guess! I dunno, it’s weird!) but I think with some kind of better planning and epic celebrations like yours I could really learn to love em. That might have to be my mission for next year!

    Also, you totally rock that pink birthday hat 😉

  8. I feel like birthdays get less fun as you get older…or maybe it’s because you become jaded and ungrateful? But all my “best” birthdays were when I was young, nothing past 11 years old! I’m super glad you had a great birthday though. I wish you the very best and may this new birthday year be even more filled with blessings and joy! 🙂

  9. You are chef supreme, all of that food looks incredible!
    Happy birthday you beautiful lady- looks like such a wonderful day. You exude so much beauty and joy.

  10. I want to go to Millie’s!! I’m so happy you had such a lovely celebration.

    My favorite birthday memories = 21st in Vegas, 22nd with you, 23rd with my “bestie with testes” 😀

  11. Woooo this makes me enthused about my own birthday in a couple of days. So great that you met another lively Gemini 🙂

    The birthday feast looks just perfect – I love the “oddly shaped” pizza, and fresh berries to cool down from dancing are a great idea!

Leave a comment