Cooking, Baking, Both

Here I am, enjoying my last week in Richmond. I’ve been busy making plans so I can see all my dear friends before I leave, and crossing off my bucket-list of things to experience in Richmond. I’m also looking forward to being reunited with my mother (hasn’t been that long since I last saw her, but still…), my best friend, and the beach. I’m just imagining myself basking in the sun, eating papaya from the backyard, while ohhh yes figuring out the beginning of this new part of my life–after college.

Weary of the frozen pizza… even if it’s Amy’s!
After having this in my freezer for probably a year, and as part of my effort to clearing my pantry/kitchen out…

I finally opened up my box of Amy’s Roasted Vegetable, no-cheese pizza. After hearing so many great things about it, I bought it so I could have it when I didn’t have time to cook. Well, since I cooked a lot in batches this past school year that time never came around. So I just had it when one day I was in the mood for pizza. So what’d I think? It was surprisingly and fortunately yummy!

Remember when I was trying one new cheese a week?

If you don’t remember I don’t blame you. That venture stopped almost a year ago since I didn’t have a car anymore. Good cheese can be expensive, but luckily Trader Joe’s made it affordable. So no car meant no more trips to Trader Joe’s. No Trader Joe’s meant less thoughts about trying new cheeses. Since my step-dad has been in town though, on the weekends we’ve been going there and I picked up a block of Idiazabal cheese. It’s made from sheep’s milk, and has that savory nutty flavor that I taste in most Spanish cheeses. I baked it over Amy’s cheese-less pizza… making it no longer cheese-less, but even tastier.

A spreadable version of my vegan split pea soup on toast spread with Vegenaise.

I thought I’d sneak in a picture of something random I ate.

Incredibly tasty vegetable dish

I had brussels sprouts and mushrooms on hand so when I stumbled upon this recipe for ‘Brussels Sprouts with Shallots and Wild Mushrooms‘ I made it right away! This is great for a side dish.

I recently visited the Virginia Center for Architecture.

The exterior and interior of this place are really something to marvel at.

The Vertical Garden Exhibition
16th century linenfold wood panels
Instead of bricks!

Let’s rewind to while my mom was visiting. I had bought some turnips when I was out grocery shopping for her stay. I don’t think I’ve actually cooked turnips before so I looked up some recipes I thought may taste good.

I wish I could remember the recipe but these were roasted with onions in a maple-mustard sauce.

Turnips taste like a slightly bitter potato, so I also made a turnip mash.

I just prepared this similarly to how I would make mashed potatoes.

Did you know that turnip lanterns are an old tradition? “Since inaugural Halloween festivals in Ireland and Scotland, turnips (rutabaga) have been carved out and used as candle lanterns. At Samhain, candle lanterns carved from turnips — samhnag — were part of the traditional Celtic festival. Large turnips were hollowed out, carved with faces and placed in windows, used to ward off harmful spirits. At Halloween in Scotland in 1895, masqueraders in disguise carried lanterns made out of scooped out turnips.”

Source.

Lately I’ve been in the mood for crisp and refreshing foods.

I pretty much followed this recipe for Raw Vegan Waldorf Salad with Apple Chia Dressing, except I didn’t have dried cranberries on hand so I used raisins instead. This satisfied my need for something cooling in such a delicious way.

Remember when I made that pancake omelet?

Well, I got to making pancakes with chocolate chips this time to go with local fresh strawberries, although this time I didn’t make the batter into one big omelet.

With a few drizzles of agave syrup
Mmm chocolate chip pancake sandwiched in between a strawberry and some chocolate hazelnut butter.
This breakfast was full of delicious bites.
This time around for a potluck I made snickerdoodle blondies

These were a hit, and were served with a yummy blueberry pomegranate ice cream from a local creamery.

I also brought coconut cream cookies!

I had leftover coconut cream so I thought these cookies would be a great way to use up the cream. I don’t bake oftehn since I’m a small crowd, but when there’s a larger crowd I pull out the recipes I’ve been wanting to try. Baking is something that brings a lot of happiness to my heart because of how easy it is to share. And when you’re sharing something yummy then the love you give gets sent right back to you!

Would you consider yourself more of a baker or a cook? And what do you love about them?

15 thoughts on “Cooking, Baking, Both

  1. NEVER EVER be weary of Amy’s frozen pizza. I just had an Amy’s single-serving pesto pizza for lunch (added steamed spinach to it) and it was divine. No shame.

    That architectural center looks like my high school! Cool (sorry, random thought).

    BLONDIES!!! And I love the pancake omelet.

    I’m definitely more of a baker – to me, it’s just easier and less stressful/intimidating (hence the Amy’s frozen, pre-made pizza, hahaha 😀 ).

  2. Ahh, all your food always looks soo delicious!
    I don’t consider myself much of a cook or baker and I wouldn’t mind one bit if you wanted to come andcook and bake for me- especially COOKIES.
    You give me so much culinary/foodie inspiration!
    I live in and I am from Scotland. Pumpkins are pretty hard to come by( I’m dying to try canned pumpkin having seen so many yummy things being made with it on U.S blogs). The less well off people would carve turnips at Halloween (cos they’re cheap) instead of (pricey) pumpkins. I love turnip though, iv made turnip fries and a carrot & turnip mash before, both were fantastic- but parsnips are my fave root.
    Xxx

    • Bahaha well if I’m ever in your corner of the world 😉

      I hope you can find some canned pumpkin, but it’s actually easy to make your own puree. That’s actually something I’ve done before since I didn’t have any canned pumpkin on hand 🙂 And what an interesting little fact about the pumpkin carving.. or turnip carving! Parsnips are so delicious as well. I’m getting hungry now thinking of all these root vegetables.

  3. haha, I, too, have always put cheese on Amy’s Cheeseless Pizza. Good choice!

    I love your creativity and versatility with vegetable dishes. That’s why I love veggies so much – they can be a side dish or a main, a soup or thickened into a sandwich filling, etc. Mother nature leaves so many beautiful, delicious fruits and vegetables at our disposal! 🙂

    Enjoy your last week in Richmond, and have a fun weekend!

  4. Wow!! You’ve been busy! It all looks like so much fun, that vertical garden seems really cool!!

    I’m definitely more of a baker. Cooking tastes a lot of skill, but I love how baking is kind of like a mini science expirement each time. Such small changes to ingredients, temp, or time can be the difference between a delicious treat and total disaster.

  5. That Amy’s pizza is my favorite frozen pizza ever!!!!! When you start craving a frozen pizza, you know its good. 🙂

    Love the looks of your fresh beautiful eats. I too crave refreshing meals in the summer, like smoothies and salads. In fact, that has been the consistency of most of my meals these days.

    Glad life is good sweetie! 🙂

  6. wow i love that vertical garden exhibit. amazing. wish i could see it.

    i definitely consider myself more of a cook than a baker, mainly because i feel like there is a lot more room for creativity/flexibility when cooking. i also feel a lot more engaged in the process when i can stand over the stove and watch things simmer/boil/fry.

  7. Love that pizza and glad you did too! What an awesome museum exhibit. And of course all of your food looks AMAZING as usual… especially those pancakes!! I definitely enjoy cooking, but I think baking is my favorite. I love baking for other people!

  8. i do not consider myself a baker but lately i’ve been doing it a lot more just to use up ingredients and have things to bring to potlucks!

    • That’s what I’ve been doing lately too! Especially great for my pantry as I’ve been trying to downsize it before my move.

  9. Ahhh your FOOD girly! Can I ask what camera you have? Both your food and snaps are always totally delicious! And Im neither a cook nor a baker, but I do have my name on some certain signature scones that I wont let anyone have the recipe too (hehe). I tend to just ‘throw stuff together’ and it usually turns out fine – as long as i have a recipe, that is! x

    • Why thank you! I use a Canon Rebel that was gifted to me years ago.

      And the stuff you throw together always looks wonderful as well 😀

  10. Hello Love!!

    Thank you for your beautiful comment! Yes, we are VERY excited for the wedding and for everything in the future! life is beautiful, who knows what the future has ahead, I just love living each day to the fullest and enjoying it, like you do!! Soon you will be with your family again and starting a new chapter, life after college! I know you will figure that all out too! I am excited to see whats ahead for you, only wonderful things : )

    I would love some of those pancakes, they look amazing!!!!!! You are really a good baker! I love seeing all the different things you create!

    Love you! Hope you are enjoying your last week in Richmond, and have a safe trip back to FLorida!!

    xoxo

Leave a comment