Happiness Often Sneaks in Through a Door You Didn’t Know You Left Open

Hi guys! I’ve been quite a busy girl lately – thanks to school. I’m learning so many things this semester that I want to share with other people! That’s always a good sign, don’t you think? I haven’t just been on the “learning” end of the deal either though. I’ve done some teaching as well! Not necessarily in a classroom setting, but instead I’ve been flourishing in my interests and sharing them with other people. For instance, now a lot of people know that I actually have a passion for cooking; I decided to make a cooking album on Facebook. I think a lot of people were surprised! I’ve also made a new friend that I met at a yoga class. It’s nice to meet people in a setting where you are doing something you truly enjoy, because you’ve got that in common. Then when you hang out and get to know each other, the friendship just grows into something incredible! And now that I’ve been kind of absent for a couple days, I think it’s only fair to share with you all what I’ve been up to. Can’t leave my friends in the dark now can I?

Banana ricotta soft-serve makes my day!

Banana ricotta soft-serve makes my day!

I topped the “soft-serve” with Zoe’s Cinnamon Raisin Granola, some more banana slices, and chocolate sprinkles. I’ve seen a lot of bloggers incorporate chocolate chips in their breakfasts, and this is me making due with what I’ve got! Actually, it’s very appropriate since underneath it all is an “ice cream” of sorts.

A parfait!

A parfait in honor of K!

I changed the ingredients just a smidge for the banana ricotta soft-serve. Rather than vanilla extract, I used coconut extract. Wow! This was also heavenly. I got the soft-serve to stay in it’splace by putting an apple slice underneath – improvising here folks! So what are the layers? Let me start from top to bottom: crunchy peanut butter, Erewhon’s Cocoa Crispy Brown Rice, banana ricotta soft-serve, apple slice, and some more of the cocoa crispies.

For this meal I wanted to do something out of the ordinary.

I used romaine as a sort of platter.

I used romaine as a sort of platter.

Then I decided to make rolls.. wraps.. not sure what to call this.

Then I decided to make rolls.. wraps.. not sure what to call this.

I love the freshness of this! I never cease to be amazed by the color palette nature offers us.

I also tried to make another interesting sandwich combo.

I also tried to make another interesting sandwich combo to go along with the romaine... boats?

This sandwich is on Cranberry Cinnamon Swirl bread and filled with eggplant, cheddar cheese, and mango chutney. I wasn’t sure if the eggplant would taste good with my favorite grilled cheese combo. How was it? Incredible!!! Definitely worth boasting about. I just remembered at a restaurant I went to they had breaded eggplant with an apricot coulis – so I thought I could try this. I’m glad I did!s

Now they look like dumplings!

Now they look like dumplings! And I'm apparently trying to mimic them?

A beautiful snack.

A beautiful snack.

Ak-mak crackers with cream cheese and edamame hummus, sprouts, grape tomatoes, and cucumber slices. Yum!

I made myself a pizza with polenta crust.

I made myself a pizza with polenta crust.

I roasted eggplant, parsnips (first time trying them!), and grape tomatoes; sautéed the onion. Then I just plopped some ricotta on and it all went into the toaster oven. After it was done baking I garnished it with some basil. I really like parsnips… a lot! Funny story with the basil. I got those leaves from a basil plant that’s growing out of a crack in a sidewalk. The plant is huge and full of delicious leaves! Nature’s way of breaking through despite what man builds on top.

Unfortunately, the crust didn't bake completely, so I ate this beautiful mess.

Unfortunately, the crust didn't bake completely, so I ate this beautiful mess.

After happily eating my personal “pizza” I headed over to David Schultz’s CD release show. At the beginning they showed a brief documentary of their recording process, and their experience of life as musicians.

Now he's got a band!

Now he's got a band!

Hanging out with my new friend, Emily. I also saw some old ones!

Hanging out with my new friend, Emily. I also saw some old ones!

On Sunday I gave my baby, Matilda, a bath!

She's cute no matter what!

She's cute no matter what!

More sunshine!

More sunshine!

This salad consisted of a Falafel Sunshine burger, red onion, tomato, an apple, avocado, sprouts, romaine, and cilantro dressing. Oh! I also squirted some ketchup on the burger. The addition of the apple in the salad was awesome! On the side I had the rest of the apple with a glass of cold soymilk. Perfect for an unexpectedly hot day. Oh man, I feel really stupid. In my review of the Sunshine burgers I said that they had corn. Well, that’s what it looked like! Then I read the ingredients and I believe those are actually lentils. So sorry for the misinformation. My opinion on how great these are didn’t change though – so no worries about that.

My Sunday was filled with lots of studying! But I managed to squeeze in a dinner at the school cafeteria with a friend. Since I don’t have a meal plan, I rarely end up going. My friend, Jonathan, invited me to dinner and we got to catch up on things. I also gave him advice on finding a roommate and which rental companies to stay away from. This is his first year in college so he had a lot of questions, and I had a lot to say!

Hi Jonathan!

Hi Jonathan!

Shafer!

Shafer!

Everytime I go here, I feel like it’s my first time. There are just so many choices – they even have a vegan and gluten-free area.

Food! Food! Food!

Food! Food! Food!

I got a bowl filled with snap peas, mushrooms, water chestnuts, onions, cucumbers, chickpeas, and hummus. I love their hummus! I actually was planning on bringing a tupperware with me to hijack some, but I forgot it at home. My bad! I also got another plate filled with spiced carrots, veggie pizza, mock ribs in BBQ sauce and peppers, a slice of Italian bread, a vegetable medley pasta (completely tasteless). I also tried some gluten-free French toast sticks – they were awful! I can’t remember the last time I ate something that disgusting. I was actually contemplating spitting it out, but we were in a public place.

He left me a little surprise on my camera!

He left me a little surprise on my camera!

Let’s see… what other things can I share with you all? Oh yes! I’m not sure if you guys know Jenny but she has an awesome blog that will make you hungry just looking at it! Recently, she put together a “best of” oatmeal post. Check it out! You will be inspired by all the wonderful creations all the bloggers have concocted. And trust me, this is way better than any “Best of” VH1 ever aired.

As for me, I’ve got my critique I told you all about, tomorrow! I’m looking forward to it now. Things are finally starting to calm down a little with my schoolwork load. And in 2 weeks I will be going to my parents’ house down in Florida for my 4-day weekend!

p.s. I just want to say hi to any new readers! HI!!! Here’s to a wonderful week! For some reason I feel like I’m on cloud nine; anybody want to come along for the ride?

27 thoughts on “Happiness Often Sneaks in Through a Door You Didn’t Know You Left Open

  1. wwwoowww that parfait sounds delish! I’ve never made banana softserve before so I think I should hop on that. I also need to start making parfaits since their so easy and yummy!

  2. agreed! jenny’s best of breakfast oatmeal is a sure winner! that girl is a genius combining all this love for food in her blog.
    i love the idea of polenta pizza, sorry to hear it didn’t work out as planned but still sounds delish!
    sounds like you had a wonderful weekend my love. argg i cant wait to meet you one day. i will be so happy and blessed on that day
    love u heaps
    xx

  3. Wow! You have a great cafeteria! Well, at least it sounds great. I don’t eat in the cafeteria at my uni, here the meals are greasy, not spiced enough, not clean enough, and they really don’t have veggie options.

  4. WOW! There are so many lovely and wonderful things in this post! First of all, I love those romaine lettuce wrap/boats! What a good way to eliminate some carbs and add some veggies to your lunch/meal! And how did you know it was basil growing out of the crack in the sidewalk? Did you smell it first? I would have never guess it was basil! And your polenta pizza looks so yummy! I have never made my own polenta. I usually cheat and just buy it but you just may have inspired me to make it. And I’ve never had eggplant grilled cheese with mango chutney or cinnamon raisin bread – it sounds and looks so interesting! How do you come up with these combos?!!

  5. I will come along for the ride;)

    Love your eats again! Totally gonna make a combination with eggplant and mango chutney. I love both (even wrote about my chutneylove in my last post) and haven’t seen this combo yet. Thanks!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  6. You are positively adorable! Of course I would love to take a ride on cloud 9 with you! 🙂

    Hope you are enjoying your week and that’s so wonderful that you have a great 4 day weekend at home to look forward to! 🙂

    Take care sweet girl.

  7. I have been dying to try a polenta crust. I tried polenta for the first time this past weekend and loved it!!! Cant wait to post the simple recipe I did.

    Did I mention you are super cute???

    xoxox
    ~Justine

  8. seriously, will you come over here and cook for me? i am constantly in awe not only at your beautiful presentation but your ability to put unexpected ingredients together to make masterpieces!

    hope everything is treating you well – good luck with the critique and ENJOY your long weekend back at home!

    hugs and love to you girl!
    holly

  9. What a lovely parfait!! Looks gorgeous – smart thinking with the apple slices too!

    Now whenever I see the word dumpling I’m going to think of how you said it’s a cute word – it is!! I love that polenta crust idea, sounds delicious!

    Good luck with your critique! Hope it goes well 🙂

  10. AHHH MATILDS! love her. get out of here with your gawjuss food! i love the parfait dedicated to k, i haven’t tried those healthified cocoa krispies but they always stare at me at the market. maybe i will cave one day? and polenta pizzas! i haven’t had one in ages, i love using polenta as pizza crust. mm. i will join you on cloud 9! xo

  11. Great wonderful inspiring food pics, as usual. And of course I saw that lil jar o sunbuttah lurking in the background of your 1st pic. I hope you’re enjoying 🙂

    Oh and Sunshine burgers…I have yet to try them. Just bought Ani’s book and may try my hand (again) at makin burgers. Normally they are bland and boring but I have hope 🙂

  12. Girl, how do you make that polenta crust? Just the thought of it is making me drool! 😀
    And haha, you are JUST like me, LOVING the academic environment…it is SO fun to learn and to teach at the same time! Enjoy!

  13. Glad to hear that Matilda is so fresh and so clean clean. Olive is in dire need of a good wash!

    All of your eats look amazing- per the usual- what else is new?

    I hope your critique went well!

  14. Oooooh your parfait with crispy rice is geeenius! Also I am a huge fan of apples in salads. Yum. Love your eggplant pizza concoction!
    New friends are so wonderful. I felt that way about little miss Holly. And then she left me for the cheese state. But I forgive her I guess.
    So exciting you get to go to Florida! Lovely times.

  15. polenta crust!? where did you find this? or did you make it yourself?? Im considering buying fresh wholewheat dough and making some pizza myself with the ricotta- the ricotta just sounds too good not to put on pizza!!!

  16. hey girlie. thanks for the comment on my blog! i think i wrote about your blog in one of my recent posts. anyways, i hope you’re having a lovely evening.

    p.s. jonathan is sooo cute 😉 lol

Leave a comment