Your Imagination, My Dear Fellow, is Worth More Than You Imagine

Hey everyone! Good news on the critique. A friend of mine actually wanted to sit in on my classes critique just to get a feel for them again. He was able to brush up on his analyzing skills. Critiques are always heavy days for me, and I usually end up with a headache. You get to hear so many perspectives, insights, and you just learn so many new things. Another interesting thing you get to observe is the manner in which different people think. It’s funny how we can view the world. Anyway, my video got a lot of discussion – a whole hour! Usually I end up feeling disappointed with critiques because I get nothing from it, or I don’t even realize what happened. But I did a lot of self-discovering and revealing about why and what my short films evoke.

While I was setting up I got to try a flavor of ProBar that’s new to me: Cocoa Pistachio

Neat artwork on the packaging.

Neat artwork on the packaging.

I snapped a picture beforehand so you guys could see what I was talking about, when I said you could see every ingredient.

I snapped a picture beforehand so you guys could see what I was talking about, when I said you could see every ingredient.

Oh my gosh; this was so yummy! I’ve really enjoyed the random chocolate chip bits in the ProBars I’ve tried. Pistachios are also one of my favorite nuts, so my expectations were pretty high – and met! It’s a mix of pistachios, peanuts, dark chocolate chips, and sunflower seeds. This bar + a cup of soymilk and an apple successfully kept my my hunger at bay for about 3 hours. But I think my body works like clockwork. My hunger usually chimes in before 3 hours or right on the dot – it’s funny. I agree with Holly though, what’s up with it just being half the size of the wrapper? Want to know some information on this bar?

Gourmet meal replacement

Unique taste of pistachios with chocolate is irresistible

Balanced blend of carbs, good fats and protein

Certified Organic, 100% Vegan

5 g of fiber and same nutritional benefits as Original Collection

As a college student, bars are such a convenience to me – as with any busy person I can imagine. So far, my experience with ProBars, is that they are very delicious, nutritious, and  satisfying!

Projecting my piece on to the wall.

Projecting my piece on to the wall.

Here’s the link again if you guys wanted to check it out: Who Am I Becoming

My friend that visited the class is on the right.

My friend that visited the class is on the right.

After our critique we got a 2 hour break and I made this messy deal…

Roasted eggplant, ricotta, tomato sauce, and basil.

Roasted eggplant, ricotta, tomato sauce, sautéed red onion, and basil.

The class met up again after 2 hours and we headed over to one of the school-funded art spaces to see Richard Carlyon’s retrospective. He was a dancer and artist who ended up teaching in the area for about 40 years when he thought he lost his dancer’s body.

IMG_8437

You can get a sense of his background as a dancer by the way he places the canvases.

You can get a sense of his background as a dancer by the way he places the canvases.

He also drew very interesting diagrams and made videos as well.

He also drew very interesting diagrams and made videos as well.

The class got out about 30 mins. early so I got a head start on my many errands. I took way longer than expected! I guess that can happen, especially if one of your stops is TJ Maxx. The day really felt like Autumn had arrived, so I made some comfort food, but I wanted to try something I’ve seen around the blogosphere.

Green oats!

Green oats!

I used the Original Amazing Grass Meal packet to turn this bowl of oats green. I also mashed in a banana, NuNaturals liquid vanilla, and coconut oil! I feel like everyone’s bowl or cup of something green tastes different so I’m going to spare the details and just say that I was pleasantly surprised! I was contemplating whether or not I should mash the banana in because “what if” it tasted like crap? Then it’s bye bye yummy banana.

I also tried Lindeman's Framboise dark cherry flavor.

I also tried Lindeman's Framboise dark cherry flavor.

I seriously forgot that it was beer and beer makes you drunk; so I got a little buzzed about 10 minutes after hahaha, then I put two and two together. Oh! And I didn’t drink the whole bottle hehe.

Anyway, so far this week it seems a lot easier to breathe. I had a photoshoot with a friend of mine – I haven’t done one of those in a long time! I feel like I need to have a creative outlet with other people so I get more dynamics going on. Sometimes working by myself gets to feel like I’m running in circles.

He has a lot of neat camera equipment.

He has a lot of neat camera equipment.

You can check out his site here. The first picture with the blue velvet pants was from the shoot we did; and you can find a couple more over on this site. It’s so weird for me to be in front of the lens! I really worked on just getting comfortable – so I ended up talking a lot.

Let’s eat now shall we?

I used up the rest of my edamame hummus.

I used up the rest of my edamame hummus.

In this wrap is roasted eggplant, sprouts, NatureNaise, grape tomatoes, and red onions. Since I don’t have a grill press I just used a pan and heated up each side. This was so delicious!

Roasted parsnips, almonds, and another interesting sandwich!

Roasted parsnips, almonds, and another interesting sandwich!

Don't let the ordinary looks of this sandwich deceive you...

Don't let the ordinary looks of this sandwich deceive you...

The other day when I was browsing through pizza recipes that had ricotta cheese, I stumbled upon one called Peach-ricotta pizza. Well I made it in sandwich form, but the secret ingredient is the addition of cilantro. Since I didn’t have fresh cilantro on hand, I just subbed in Trader Joe’s cilantro dressing. Wow! I would have never thought of cilantro, but it took this sandwich to another level. It’s funny how the simple addition of one surprise can change everything; this also applies to other things on a much broader scale.

I feel like I try something new everyday!

Before I forget! I wanted to share an entertaining site I found earlier today. I was looking up ways to prepare a certain squash (you’ll find out next post), and I stumbled upon this little gem: 50 Ways to Eat More Produce. I think these ideas work well for adults and kids alike. So check it out.

p.s. Marina asked if I was studying culinary arts – I wish!!! Another friend of mine actually asked me that same question, and I think it’s a sign that I should look into it – perhaps a summer program? I’m actually majoring in sculpture, so I guess that’s why I’m so visually oriented.

Happy Wednesday everyone!!!

23 thoughts on “Your Imagination, My Dear Fellow, is Worth More Than You Imagine

  1. you are gorgeous my dear – i love all the pics, esp the ones with the glasses. too dang cute!

    yay for a good critique! so happy for you. i am also happy you agree that those probars are too dang small for the packaging!

    culinary arts would be right up your alley – love all your unique eats as always. happy humpday friend 🙂

  2. FRAMBOISE! you are a girl after my own heart. the peach variety is my FAVE.

    so glad the critique went well and you got so much out of it! yay!

    and probars are from utah, holler. \

    loving the edamame hummmdinger.

    and i love your talented, artsy face!

  3. love all your eats, but something is wrong with my laptop or i have no idea but there are no pics of your eats 😦 but Maya’s Laptop has them? i am so upset lol, but i loved reading this post anyways, and i must try the pistachio Probar, i am a huge pistachio lover, ha and maya is as well hence her blog name hehe…and i think that would be so great if you took cooking courses or became a chef or something, you are so talented lovie.
    thank you so much for your amazing comments.:)
    xo
    Eliza

  4. Great news about critique!! Boy, do I remember those sessions back at Parsons and FIT – scary/nerve-wrecking, but fun.

    You SHOULD study culinary arts – come be my personal chef, please?? 😀

  5. agreed with veggie girl, come be my personal chef! id eat anything u gave me, i swear 😉 haha.

    love all ur eats! and you should seriously consider culinary as well as sculpting 🙂 u girl, are just too talented and amazing.

    probars=my new love! its like a freaking oatmeal power cookie bar thingy only better :)… must try pistachio! of course i loove pistachio anything.

    xo
    maya

  6. Your food photog is beautiful as always. All your sandwiches wraps sound amazing. And, agreed, that pistachio wrapper is boasting some lovely arteee.

    I just watched your video, and it is so inspiring and insightful. You are so, so talented y guapa 🙂

  7. Glad to hear that the critique went well. Being analyized is never a walk in the park, but it sounds like everything was bueno! 🙂

    I keep seeing so much on these Pro Bars and now of course, I am dying to try one. This coco pistascio flavor you speak of is by far, the best one I have seen. I love me some pistascios and I am always looking of more ways of having these little beauties in my life.

    And, ALL HAIL the sandwhich QUEEN! You deserve an award. I am offically dubbing you the Queen of Sammies! 🙂

    Okay darling, hope your week is spectacular! 🙂

  8. how did I know the critique would go well? oh, because you’re kind of really incredibleeeee – that’s how!

    i sincerely hope you’re entering a sammie in to my “best of..” this week!

  9. Miss Sculpture 😀 How fantastic. I’m glad your critique went well. I remember being in a creative writing workshop and feeling skeptical about the kind of feedback I’d receive, but every now and then you really strike new, worthwhile ideas 🙂

    GREEN OATS? Get into my kitchen and prepare for a super secret late-night oat society handshake.

  10. i want pro bars! why do i have to live in singapore?? they look amazing!
    hope everything with your critique went well love, if not i agree with everyone else. go study culinary arts and open a restaurant to feed us hungry bloggers. you’ll be a millionaire sooner than you can imagine 🙂
    love u
    xx

  11. That wrap looks so good!
    And I really wish I could try that probar, but that’s another bar they don’t sell here… Maybe I’ll try to order some with my next Larabar-order from the US.
    Enjoy your day!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  12. Katharina, you are so multi-faceted! You are talented in so many ways! Congrats on your critique; it sounds like it went quite well. And I think you might be the crazy sandwich combo queen! Everything you make looks equally beautiful and tasty! Woot! Woot!

  13. YAY that you got a productive critique. I hate ineffective, unhelpful critiques, too, for my writing. I hate it when people say “It’s good” or “It’s ok” without elaborating on it.

    I think you really SHOULD try the culinary arts! how freaking cool would that be?!

    Oh, and are you going to the Foodbuzz Fest?!

Leave a comment